Laurie Watkins perpetual all over best tryers trophy

Laurie Watkins Perpetual

This trophy, known colloquially as the "BEST TRYERS TROPHY" is awarded at the Club Class (formerly Sports and Two-Seater) National Championships each year for the pilot judged to be the 'BEST TRYER', irrespective of Class.

It was donated by the Beaufort Gliding Club as a tribute to their late member Laurie Watkins, and first awarded at the 1987/8 season Nationals held at Corowa in January 1988.

Laurie Watkins took up the sport of gliding in his 50's with Beaufort Gliding Club. He became an Instructor and was a stalwart member of that club for about twenty years until his death from natural causes in the mid 1980's. The trophy incorporates a small gilt sailplane model owned by Laurie Watkins.

Season Pilot Club Venue Nationals
1987/8 Finbarr Hart Beaufort G C Corowa 7th S & 2Str
1988/9 Chris Thorpe Beaufort G C Corowa 8th
1989/90 David Nugent Sunraysia G C Mildura 9th
1990/1     Mildura 10th
1991/2     Leeton 11th
1992/3     Leeton 12th
1993/4     Corowa 13th
1994/5 A.Furmiston: & M Simpson, Geelong G.C Corowa 14th
1995/6 Lisa Turner Kingaroy S.C Renmark 15th
1996/7 Trevor Rim & Mark Goodley G.C.V Renmark 16th
1997/8 Bill Hatfield Bundaberg G.C Temora 17th
1998/9 Phillip Ritchie Adelaide S.C Temora 18th Cl & Sp.
99/2000 Paul Clift Adelaide S.C. Gawler 19th
2000/1 Eugene Blunt, & John Kohan   Benalla 20th
2001/2 Bob Musgrave Beaufort G C Temora 21st
2002/3 Mike Morris   Temora 22nd
2003/4 Ray Humphrey   NSW Waikerie 23rd
2004/5 Jeff Woodward  WA Waikerie 24th
2005/6 Paul Handley   Benalla 25th
2006/7 Adam 'Charlie' Ianson VIC Benalla 26th
 2007/8  Not awarded    Kingaroy  27th
 2008/9  Not awarded    Kingaroy  28th
 2009/10  Not awarded    Lake Keepit  29th