The Edmund Schneider Trophy

"Best in Non-competitive Aircraft"

Edmund Schneider Trophy

This trophy commemorates the great contribution to the gliding movement in Australia by Edmund Schneider who for some years was Australia’s largest manufacturer of aircraft, even though he only made gliders. His designs set GFA’s many clubs on the way to modernising their fleets. In fact some of the designs won the Australian titles.

Andor Meszaros designed this work of art which depicts an emu with outstretched wings. At the time this was most appropriate, being a non-flying bird, as it was awarded to the pilot considered the ‘Best Battler’ at the Nationals due to flying a low performance, non-competitive, glider.

With the passing of time needs changed, and after being used as an award “when required” the GFA Sports Committee re-allocated it in 1978 to be awarded to the winner of the 15 Metre Class at the Nationals.

In 1992 a magnificent new 15 Metre Class Trophy was donated anonymously, and the Edmund Schneider Trophy reverted to its original use, being awarded for the best performance by a pilot flying a sailplane deemed to be ‘non-competitive’.

In 2007 Sports Committee decided that the trophy should no longer be awarded as there were very few non-competitive gliders entering.

Season Pilot State Venue Nationals
1964/5 F. Smith   Benalla 5th FAI
1965/6 G. Dunn SA Waikerie 6th
1966/7 G. Detto NSW Narromine 7th
1967/8 F.Gascoigne Vic Benalla 8th
1968/9 M.Gill SA Renmark 9th
1969/70 G.Bleuel NSW Narromine 10th
1970/1 C.Salisbury NSW Benalla 11th
1971/2 Not Awarded   Waikerie 12th
1972/3 G.Sunderland Vic Waikerie 13th
1973/4 Not Awarded, World Comps in Australia
1974/5 S.Gazechi & R.Pincus NSW Narromine 14th
1975/6 I.Renner NSW Tocumwal 15th
1976/7 I.Renner NSW Renmark 16th
1977/8 M.Bradney SA Narromine 17th
1978/9 M.Bradney SA Cunderdin 18th
1979/80 M.Bradney SA Benalla 19th
1980/1 M.Borgelt SA Waikerie 20th
1981/2 B.Brockhoff Vic Narromine 21st
1982/3 M.Jinks SA Jondaryan 22nd
1983/4 J.Rowe NSW Benalla 23rd
1984/5 A.Pybus NSW Leeton 24th
  (1st place G.Schuitt, Holland)      
1985/6 S. O,Donnell NSW Gawler 25th
  (1st place K.Musters, Holland)      
1986/7 Not Awarded, World Comps in Australia      
1987/8 B.Edwards NSW Forbes 26th
1988/9 B.Brockhoff Vic Waikerie 27th
1989/90 B.Brockhoff Vic Benalla 28th
1990/1 D.Jansen NSW Tocumwal 29th
1991/2 Bruce Tuncks SA Gawler 30th
1992/3 Ron Brecknell NSW Narromine 31st
1993/4 Ron Brecknell NSW Lake Keepit 32nd
1994/5 Malcolm Keys Qld Dalby 33rd
1995/6 Bruce Tuncks SA Gawler 34th
1996/7 ‘Gabby’ Hayes SA Horsham 35th
1997/8 Andrew Georgeson Qld Kingaroy 36th
1998/9 Hank Kauffman Qld Narromine 37th
99/2000 Noel Vagg Vic Benalla 38th
2000/1 Garry Stephenson Vic Gulgong 39th
2001/2 Kerrie Claffey NSW Narromine 40th
2002/3 Not Awarded   Narromine 41st Mult.
2003/4 No contest (change to performance basis) NSW Gulgong 42nd
2004/5 Peter Bell NSW Dalby 43rd
2005/6 David Jansen QLD Gawler 44th
2006/7 Don Woodward WA Kingaroy 45th
 2007/08  Scott Lennon  NSW  Temora 46th