The Australian Soaring Grand Prix Winner Trophy

Austraglide trophy (Grand Prix winner)(Formally Austraglide Trophy)

In 2006 the GFA Annual Board meeting (held in Brisbane that year) approved the re-dedication of the former Australglide Trophy in order to provide a worthy trophy for the new AUSTRALIAN SOARING GRAND PRIX programmed to be held at Gawler in January 2007. The plaques were reorganised accordingly.

The AUSTRAGLIDE TROPHY was first awarded in 1984 at Benalla. It was donated by GFA in 1983 after it had been decided to develop a regular international gliding contest every two or three years as a precursor to the forthcoming 1987 World Gliding Championships. There was no set interval in mind between contest dates.

The first such competition was conducted in 1984 and was attended by fifteen international pilots including the three reigning world champions. The object was to open Australia’s superb gliding conditions to many more overseas pilots. Further, it was considered a plus to have GFA pilots learn new tactics and develop their abilities when matched against overseas pilots.

The Austraglide Trophy is a perpetual trophy and under GFA policy cannot be taken out of Australia. However, in the event of an overseas pilot being the winner, a bas relief bronze plaque125mm x 175mm is available (to order) as a keepsake and can be forwarded to the winner at his/her cost, and retained.

The designer and constructor, Herbert Schade, has produced a trophy of extremely high standard.

After two international events, in 1984 & 1986, the trophy fell into disuse. In 1995 the need became apparent for an Open Class League 2 Trophy and it was decided to rededicate the Austraglide Trophy for this purpose, starting with the 1995 FAI Nationals at Gawler, S.A.

Season Pilot State Class Sailplane
1983/4 John Rowe NSW 15m Class ASW20
1985/6 Ingo Renner NSW Open Class Nimbus 3
Season Pilot State Venue Nationals
1994/5 John Dennis SA Dalby 33rd FAI
1995/6 John Dennis SA Gawler 34th
1996/7 Bob Irvine   (posthumous, killed on day 9) SA Horsham 35th
1997/8 Harry Medlicott NSW Kingaroy 36th
1998/9 Bob Ward Qld Narromine 37th
1999/2000 Tracey Tabart Vic Benalla 38th
2000/2001 Pam Kurstjens UK Gulgong 39th Multi-Class
2001/2 Not Awarded (Insufficient entries)   Narromine 40th Multi-Class
2002/3 Not Contested   Narromine 41st Multi-Class
2003/4 No contest (change to performance basis) NSW Gulgong 42nd
2004/5 No contest (trophy with T.O)   Dalby 43rd
  Grand Prix winner      
2006/7 Bruce Taylor NSW Gawler LS8