The Dr. Mervyn Hall Trophy

National Open Class Champion

Dr. Mervyn Hall was one of the founders of GFA in 1949. He represented Queensland as a Councillor from 1949 to 1955.
This Trophy was designed by Andor Meszaros in 1960 and now this work of art is of inestimable value


The trophy was first awarded to the Nationals Clampion but with the emergence of different classes of gliders it was decided to make it available to the Open Class Champion.  

Season Pilot State Venue Nationals
1956/7 Doug Reid Vic Tocumwal 1st FAI
1958/59 Jack Iggulden Vic Benalla 2nd
1960/1 BobRowe SA Gawler 3rd
1962/3 Mervyn.Waghorn NSW Narromine 4th
1964/5 Malcolm Jinks SA Benalla 5th
1965/6 Malcolm Jinks SA Waikerie 6th
1966/7 Malcolm Jinks SA Narromine 7th
1967/8 John Rowe SA Benalla 8th
1968/9 John Rowe SA Renmark 9th
1969/70 Malcolm Jinks SA Narromine 10th
1970/71 Malcolm Jinks SA Benalla 11th
1971/2 Ingo Renner Qld Waikerie 12th
1972/3 Ingo Renner Qld Waikerie 13th
1973/4:  No contest ( World Comps in Australia )
1974/5 Malcolm Jinks SA Narromine 14th
1975/6 Malcolm Jinks SA Tocumwal 15th
1976/7 Malcolm Jinks SA Renmark 16th
1977/8 Malcolm Jinks SA Narromine 17th
1978/9 Malcolm Jinks SA Cunderdin 18th
1979/80 Ingo Renner SA Benalla 19th
1980/1 M.Jinks  & A.Tabart SA &Vic Waikerie 20th
1981/2 Ingo Renner NSW Narromine 21st
1982/3 Ingo Renner NSW Jondaryan 22nd
1983/4 Ingo Renner NSW Benalla 23rd
1984/5 TonyTabart Vic Leeton 24th
1985/6 John Holland SA Gawler 25th
1986/7:  No contest ( World Comps in Australia )
1987/8 J.Holland SA Forbes 26th
1988/9 John Buchanan Qld Waikerie 27th
1989/90 John Buchanan Qld Benalla 28th
1990/1 John Buchanan Qld Tocumwal 29th
1991/2 Ingo Renner NSW Gawler 30th
1992/3 Michael Giles Vic Narromine 31st
1993/4 Paul Mander NSW Lake Keepit 32nd
1994/5 Paul Mander NSW Dalby 33rd
1995/6 Ian Shadbolt Vic Gawler 34th
1996/7 Paul Mander NSW Horsham 35th
1997/8 Brad Edwards NSW Kingaroy 36th
1998/9 Brad Edwards NSW Narromine 37th
1999/2000 Peter Griffiths,Lars Zehnder Qld Benalla 38th
2000/1 John Buchanan Qld Gulgong 39th Multi-Class
2001/2 John Buchanan Qld Narromine 40th Multi-Class
2002/3 Not Contested   Narromine 41st Multi-Class
2003/4 Tony Tabart    (Open Performance Champion) NSW Gulgong 42nd Multi-Class
2004/5 Bruce Taylor NSW Dalby 43rd
2005/6 Tracey Tabart VIC Gawler 44th
2006/7 Paul Mander NSW Kingaroy 45th
 2007/8  Gerrit Kurstjens  Qld  Temora  46th
 2008/9  Paul Mander  NSW  Benalla  47th
 2009/10  David Jansen  Qld  Waikerie  48th
 2010/11  John Buchanan  Qld  Dalby  49th