National Standard Class ChampionDoc Heydon Trophy

The DOC HEYDON TROPHY is awarded at the F.A.I. National Championships each year to the pilot winning the STANDARD CLASS CHAMPIONSHIP

It was donated in1968 by G.F.A.

Dr. George A.M.Heydon learned to fly light aircraft at a mature age. On many occasions his struggling club, association, or GFA itself required financial assistance and it was always Doc Heydon who seemed to be first in to offer that help. He encouraged higher standards of flying and safety in the young gliding movement.

On his death in 1963 the GFA became one of his beneficiaries, so the GFA commissioned a design for a trophy and on acceptance of the design by the GFA Council it was cast and made available for award to the Standard Class Champion in the Nationals

Season Pilot State Venue Nationals
1968/9 M.Howland Qld Renmark 9th FAI
1969/70 D.Jones SA Narromine 10th
1970/1 Sue Martin SA Benalla 11th
1971/2 M.Jinks SA Waikerie 12th
1972/3 M.Bradney SA Waikerie 13th
1973/4 No contest (World Comps in Australia)      
1974/5 I.Renner Qld Narromine 14th
1975/6 I.Renner NSW Tocumwal 15th
1976/7 T.Knappstein SA Renmark 16th
1977/8 G.Cleland SA Narromine 17th
1978/9 G.Hayes SA Cunderdin 18th
1979/80 E.A.Pascoe SA Benalla 19th
1980/1 S.McCaffrey Qld Waikerie                20th
1981/2 J.Buchanan Qld Narromine 21st
1982/3 M.Giles Vic Cunderdin 22nd
1983/4 A.Pybus NSW Benalla 23rd
1984/5 I.Renner Vic Leeton 24th
1985/6 I.Renner Vic Gawler 25th
1986/7 No contest (World Comps in Australia)      
1987/8 A.Pybus NSW Forbes 26th
1988/9 A.Pybus NSW Waikerie 27th
1989/90 M.Bradney SA Benalla 28th
1990/1 I.Renner Vic Tocumwal 29th
1991/2 A.Pybus                NSW Gawler 30th
1992/3 I.Renner Vic Narromine 31st
1993/4 I.Renner Vic Lake Keepit 32nd
1994/5 B.Taylor NSW Dalby 33rd
1995/6 B.Taylor NSW Gawler    34th
1996/7 J. Buchanan Qld Horsham 35th
1997/8 J. Buchanan Qld Kingaroy 36th
1998/9 Ingo Renner Vic Narromine 37th
1999/2000 Ingo Renner Vic Benalla 38th
2000/1 Ingo Renner Vic Gulgong 39th
2001/2 Andrew Georgeson Qld Narromine 40th
2002/3 Tom Claffey Qld Narromine 41st
2003/4 No contest (change to performance basis) NSW Gulgong 42nd
2004/5 Miles Gore-Brown NSW Dalby 43rd
2005/6 No contest (change to performance based) SA Gawler 44th
2006/7 Bruce Taylor NSW Kingaroy 45th
 2007/8  Bruce Campbell
 NSW  Temora  46th
 2008/9  Peter Temple
 SA  Benalla  47th
 2009/10  Mike Durrant
 Vic  Waikerie  48th
 2010/11  Allan Barnes  Qld          Dalby  49th